Dogs in the South

Django and Nala – bonded pair

LOWESTOFT

Adoption fee for Django and Nala is £650

Django and Nala are a bonded pair who are being rehomed as unfortunately Django bit the owners 22 month old child when the child accidently pressed down on his belly. This has never happened before as Django is not an aggressive dog however as the family are expecting another baby shortly, they feel they can’t risk it happening again.

 

 

Django

  • 3 years old
  • Male, standard, red, smooth
  • Neutered

Django is described by his owner as a good dog who can be playful and loves his walks with his sister Nala. Django gets on well with other dogs, especially his sister, he is housetrained and can be left for up to 4 hours. He does not like cats.

Nala

  • 3 years old
  • Female, standard, red, smooth
  • Neutered

Nala is a shy nervous dog at first but she’s full of love and cheekiness and has a sweet personality once she gets to know you. 

Nala doesn’t really like other dogs and will bark when she sees them whilst out walking. For this reason, we feel a home without other dogs would be ideal. Nala is housetrained and can be left for up to 4 hours, she is okay in the car but can get a little nervous. She does not like cats.

Requirements in a home for Django and Nala

  • Adult only
  • No young children (dog savvy 14+ who will give them space)
  • No other dogs
  • No cats
  • Gentle walks 

To find out more about Django and Nala please email [email protected]

George

  • KENT
  • 6 years old
  • Brindle, tweenie (just under 10kg)
  • Male – neutered
  • Adoption fee £250

We are looking for a forever home for George. George is a very sweet loving boy and loves cuddles and fuss and being with those he loves and trusts. 

George is being surrendered as unfortunately he is struggling with small children in the house, this is causing him to be anxious and has resulted in a bite to one of them.  

George can be nervous of strangers to the house and this does need to be managed. If the strangers come in and sit still and ignore him he does come around after a while. Once he has met someone a couple of times he is excited and happy to see them like an old friend. 

George is currently an only dog and is reactive to other dogs, depending on breed, on a walk which he can display by barking and portraying aggressive behaviours however this is due to his anxiety and we are happy to provide behaviour support for this. 

George is happy to be left for a few hours at a time, he is crate trained and currently sleeps in his crate at night in the kitchen. He knows his name and will respond to basic commands. 

George has had two previous bouts of IVDD, which he continues to recover from and improve his strength however his walk can be wobbly at times. 

George is looking for a quieter life as an only dog in a home with few or regular visitors and no children. 

Requirements in a home:

  • No Children
  • No other pets
  • Short walks
  • Minimal visitors 

If you feel you can give George a home you must be registered with us and able to travel to the areas to meet. Please email [email protected]

Zeebo

  • Exeter
  • 4 Years Old
  • Male – Neutered
  • Red Smooth Haired Standard Dachshund
  • Adoption fee is £350

Zeebo is a sweet boy whose favourite pastimes include lounging in the sun, relishing sardines, playing with his toys at home and chasing after squirrels in the garden. His affectionate and loving nature blossoms with those he knows and trusts. Although initially cautious with new people Zeebo is able to trust new people quite quickly. In the summer months he just loves to be out in the sunshine all day long and even has to wear doggy sunscreen due to how long he spends out there!

Zeebo is being surrendered due to the fact that his anxieties have become worse since having a new baby in the family. He has become more reactive and has bitten a workman who entered the home whilst he was eating his breakfast, the situation wasn’t managed and although the bite wasn’t serious, the family feel he would be better in a home without children and without too many visitors. 

Zeebo currently lives with another dog and has a nice bond with the other dog in the home, however both dogs are anxious, which isn’t helping either of them. He could live with another dog pending slow and patient introductions but we feel he would prefer to be the only pet and have doggy friends to meet up with.

When out on walks Zeebo can sometimes struggle with anxiety when seeing other dogs and people. He reacts by barking at them. This is being managed well and only happens on a few occasions now instead of at every dog! He will happily walk away and continue on his walk afterwards. Zeebo has been working with a behaviourist on this and has made lots of amazing progress.

He currently lives with a cat and gets along with the cat. They even sleep on the same sofa sometimes. When he is in a playful mood he can chase the cat occasionally just to try and play. Zeebo could live with another cat that is comfortable with this and is a laid back cat that has previously lived with dogs.

As most dachshunds do he will bark when the doorbell rings. He is a very clever boy and knows lots of commands and tricks such as sit, paw, down, paws up and many more!

He sleeps in his bed overnight with no issues and can be left alone for 2 – 3 hours without issues. He will bark once he hears you are home as he is just so excited that his family are home to see him. Zeebo is very good with his toilet training and has no accidents indoors. 

Requirements in a home:

  • A quiet and patient home
  • He can live with older children that are comfortable and confident around dogs
  • His ideal home would be where he is the only pet and he saw doggy friends on walks. He could live with a confident dog pending slow introductions
  • Zeebo can live with a cat that is laid back and comfortable around dogs
  • Quiet location or somewhere that he can be walked without many dogs
  • Someone who is patient and happy to continue working on his anxiety with support through a behaviourist (we are able to provide this behaviour support)
  • Someone happy to meet Zeebo 3+ times before adopting him to ensure a smooth transition into his new home

If you are interested in providing Zeebo with his forever home, please email [email protected]

BAXTER

  • Hampshire 
  • Male, dachshund cross jack Russell 
  • Black & Tan, smooth
  • 1 year 5 months 
  • Not Neutered
  • Adoption fee is £400

Baxter is described by his owners as very playful and puppy-like. He is being rehomed because his owners recently had a baby and are struggling to give Baxter the attention that he needs. They have also had to move from a house to a flat, which isn’t suitable for Baxter.

Baxter has a big personality and is a very happy dog. He loves to play fetch with balls and his soft toys which he also carries around in his mouth with him often. Baxter isn’t keen on the TV and will bark when this is on. He loves lots of attention, fuss and cuddles. Also he is known to chew personal belongings, and carpets, furniture. 

Baxter is a playful boy that could do with a knowledgeable home that has the time to work on some of his behaviours, such as his barking and recall. Baxter is happy to travel by car, ideally needs to be rehomed with dog savvy children to allow for appropriate settling in period, and settles quickly when being left for up to 2 hours.

Requirements in a home:

  • An active home where Baxter can reach his full potential 
  • Dog savvy children
  • Someone who has energy to keep up with Baxter and is able to get a trainer to work on some of his behaviours 
  • Other dogs are fine but will need introductions as although playful with them out on walks he has not lived with other dogs
  • No cats

If you are interested in learning more about Baxter, please ensure you are registered with us and send an email to [email protected]

 

MOTIA

  • Middlesex 
  • Female, miniature 
  • Chocolate dapple, long haired
  • 1 year 11 months 
  • Not Neutered
  • Adoption fee is £450

Motia is described by her owners as a confident, friendly, playful and very affectionate girl, she can be a little shy when meeting new people and when other dogs start barking she loves to join in. Motia is being rehomed as her owner has had a change in circumstance and isn’t coping looking after multiple dogs. Motia is prone to skin allergies and will need some visits to the vets to get to the bottom of it. 

She hasn’t lived with children so an adult only home or a family with dog savvy children over 13, she does not like cats, owner feels the ideal home would be with another male dachshund that is not timid or as an only dog. 

She is a beautiful girl with a lovely personality and would need an active, loving home that has the patience to deal with her medical needs. She can be left for up to 2 hours, so ideally someone that works from home or at home most of the time. She knows how to give a paw but you might have to learn it in Russian, if you’re willing to give this playful girl a loving home and feel you match her home requirements please get in touch.

 Requirements in a home:

  • An active home that either works from home or home most of time 
  • Dog savvy children over 13/adult only home 
  • Someone who has patience to learn and adapt to Motia’s allergies and get to the bottom of what is causing it.
  • Other dogs are fine ideally home with another dachshund (male who’s not timid) 
  • No cats

If you are interested in learning more about Motia, please ensure you are registered with us and send an email to [email protected]

Chloe

  • Kings Lynn
  • 9 years old
  • Female, standard
  • Black & tan, smooth coat
  • Neutered
  • Adoption fee is £250

Chloe loves people and has an affectionate and cuddly nature with those that she knows. Unfortunately, Chloe is being rehomed as she has been fighting with another dog in the household. This has led to her owners becoming injured during attempts to separate them and is impacting the overall well-being and care of the dogs in the home.

Chloe loves her walks, she will bark at other dogs whilst on lead but loves being off-lead where she will eagerly engage with dogs, maybe with a bark but also some tail wags and returning promptly to her owner. Like most dachshunds Chloe loves her home comforts, especially a cosy lap or sofa with her blankets.

Chloe is house-trained, and travels well in the car. Whilst she is not crate-trained, she comfortably sleeps downstairs on her bed, of course covered in her favourite blankets. Chloe is currently being left for extended periods but it is recommended that her new home not leave her for more than 4 hours. She is not used to cats.

Chloe is used to living with young children so we feel she could adapt well to a home with kids aged 7+as long as they were used to dogs and able to give her the space that she needs to settle in and going forward.

Requirements in a home:

  • Quiet calm family, couple or single person home
  • Children over 7 years old but would need multiple meetings
  • No other dogs
  • No cats

If you feel you fit the criteria for Chloe and could provide her with a loving home, please email [email protected]